Sunshine blogger award

For a long while, I have been off blogosphere. I have had things I wanted to write about, but the words were nowhere to be found. I went around asking people to give me topics to write about. I wanted to see if anything would immediately kick start that blogging part of my brain that was asleep.

Today, I can’t say what is making me write again. Maybe it’s the fact that I realized I had lost discipline in every aspect of my life and I knew it was high time I brought some order back.

So, the good news is, I was nominated for the Sunshine blogger award by lemonslemonade.com. Yayyyyyy. My first ever blogging award.  And that just made my day. You know when a family member or friend compliments your work, you’ll say “Thank you” with a huge smile. But when someone you hardly know does the same, you”ll say “Wow. Wow. Thannnnnk yoooou”. And then you’ll smile for a long time. That was me that day.

Unfortunately, I couldn’t blog about it immediately. As I mentioned earlier, I couldn’t write. I couldn’t answer the questions asked and worse, I couldn’t think of questions to ask.

But, that’s over. Here I am.

So the rules of the award are;

  1. Thank the blogger who nominated you
  2. Answer questions given by the one who nominated you
  3. Nominate fellow bloggers
  4. Give them 10 questions to answer

First and foremost, thanks so much to Lemonslemonade. Her blog is amazing by the way. Her posts are very inspirational  And I must add that her blog post is one of the reasons I am writing today. Because it motivated me to stop dilly dallying and say “Enough is enough”. So I owe her thanks, not just for the award, but for the motivation.

Now, to answer the questions.

  1. What inspires you to write?

Reading inspires me to write. Reading what other people have written and seeing how creative others can be with words, awe me and make me want to do the same. I believe that my love for writing started because I love reading. So thank you, Daddy, for exposing me to so many story books as a child.

  1. What is your secret talent?

Hahaha. My secret talent is a secret because it is pretty much useless. I can write backwards. In a way that it can be deciphered using a mirror. Like the mirror image of words. If that makes sense.

  1. How long have you been writing/blogging?

I just started blogging this year. But I have been writing since I was a child. I would look for topics in English textbooks and write about them. At 8 years old, I used to write application letters for jobs or write speeches I would make if I was campaigning to be president. I was a big dreamer.

  1. What’s your favourite junk food?

I love vanilla flavoured ice cream. A boring and safe flavor, but I can be very boring sometimes.

  1. What country will you love to visit someday?

I will love to go for the Hajj pilgrimage, so Saudi Arabia.

  1. Who’s your biggest inspiration?

I don’t have a particular person that inspires me. Several people inspire me at different times. It usually depends on where I am at the moment.

I recently read a book called “28 stories of AIDS in Africa”.  These are true stories of 28 people in different parts of Africa who are or were dealing with the effects of living with HIV/AIDS. I read about what some of them have gone through at a time when there was either no cure available for them or when stigma for HIV was so high. I read about how they faced adversity and never backed down. They never told themselves “it’s all over” when everyone else told them it was. Instead, they fought for themselves and for others. They positively affected other people’s lives and changed societal norms. They are my inspiration right now, to get up and make an impact, because I have no excuse.

  1. What’s your least favourite colour?

Brown. Just because it’s brown.

  1. What would you say is the biggest thing that has ever happened to you?

This question is really difficult for me to answer. I can’t really say what the biggest thing is. Because everything good that has happened to seem so monumental. For me, the fact that I’m doing my PhD, the fact that I blog and I get complimented for it, the fact that I got 4th position in a writing competition a few years ago,the fact that I’m alive and other facts that may seem small and inconsequential, all seem like such a big thing to me, that it’s difficult to rate which is bigger.

  1. What was the last movie you saw?

Pitch perfect 2. It’s an old movie, I know. But I watch series more than I watch movies. Movies are just too short for me. I need something I can watch and keep on watching.

  1. What is your favourite quote?

My favourite quote always changes. So my favourite quote for now is a Swedish proverb that’s says “Fear less, Hope more; Eat less, chew more; whine less, breathe more; talk less, say more; hate less, love more; and all good things will be yours.”

I enjoyed answering these questions.

The blogs I am nominating are mindafricablog, Hunts Clubhouse and Naijabookworm. These blogs are really interesting. Check them out.

My turn to ask questions…

  1. Why did you start blogging?
  2. What is that thing you love to do, but are not very good at?
  3. What is that thing you wish you could change about yourself?
  4. What is the craziest thing you have done because of a crush?
  5. Which do you enjoy more; Movies or series?
  6. Which do you enjoy more; Reading or Writing?
  7. What do you think is your most marketable skill?
  8. What do you think is your most unmarketable skill?
  9. What is your greatest motivation?

Looking forward to your answers. And I’ll be posting very soon.

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Sunshine blogger award

  1. Imaobong says:

    Aww thank you so much for your sweet words Hassy!
    Totally made my day 🙂
    By the way, I loved all of your answers (and your secret talent sounds super cool oh)
    Hehe
    Welcome back dearie, can’t wait to read your next post!

    Like

  2. J L Hunt says:

    I was visiting to say congrats to you & then I saw my name…So congrats to you! And thanks so much 🙂 I’m not participating in the awards for now, but I am truly touched that you thought of me 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

